adventures in baking

it’s that festive time of year .. my favorite time to be in the kitchen.

Items of Note:

  • I love parchment paper. Put this on the bottom of any cookie sheet and wait for magnificent results. You don’t have to change the baking time or alter the recipe. This takes the place of greasing the cookie sheets or those weird silicone mats that I have no tolerance for.
  • I love my Sunbeam Mixmaster. I may never mix anything by hand again. It frees up both hands and is extremely consistent. Almost like having someone else do the work for you … almost.

Cookies Made to date:

  • Chocolate Chip
  • No-bake Peanut Butter
  • Snickerdoodles
  • Hershey’s Thumbprint Cookies

The family Christmas shindig is fast approaching this weekend, so there is a great deal of baking on my agenda over the next few days. Equally daunting? The grocery list. I always map out the baking shenanigans ahead in hopes of getting all of my ingredients at once. Some of the recipes are tricky and include things I would not otherwise pick up while out on a baking binge — sour cream, raisins, etc. Good thing my father is willing to go out at the last minute when I panic about a forgotten ingredient. I think I’ve given Heights Market more business than I care to.

Another highlight of the baking season is the gift-giving. Who doesn’t like homemade cookies? A few handmade tags to detail what’s inside, a cute tin, a ribbon, a card and BANG – insta-gift. Sure, it’s a lot of work but for me it’s a labor of love.

Yours in flour,
K

Leave a Reply

