upheaval: 20 points

In a little over  a month I will have my life packed up in a bag or two and be headed across the pond for an extended period of time. This is not unlike an extended vacation when it comes to packing, but there are SO MANY things to take care of before my departure.

  1. Transition. My job has been posted! The next month will be a lot of wrap up and how – to for my successor.
  2. Termination. Last day at Lehigh = September 15 :-/
  3. Doctors. Quick! Make appointments everywhere before health insurance ends ..
  4. Car. still has to be paid for and insured in my absence.
  5. Student loan(s). Deferment? Forbearance? Private loans = bad.
  6. Phone. Get a GSM? Buy a new one abroad?
  7. Apartment. Luckily, nothing to take care on this end – but I do need to find one abroad..
  8. Prescriptions. Find a way to stock up now or figure out the system abroad.
  9. Donations. Contact local businesses to get awesome free stuff to share with my school and my students to talk about Bethlehem / PA / US. *to date, I have received generous donations from the Greater Lehigh Valley Chamber of Commerce and JustBorn candies.
  10. Photos. In addition to bringing cool tokens along, I’ll be doing some photographs of all things Bethlehem.
  11. Classroom visits. Looking forward to doing some in-class visits at schools in the Bethlehem Area School District to do some video, take some photos, and hopefully create a link for my students / my school.
  12. Money. Work, work, work. Stash the cash.
  13. Power of Attorney. parents + bank account = safety net.
  14. Planes, Trains & Automobiles. Transportation to my destination.
  15. Hotel. Need a temporary home for about a week.
  16. IES San Antonio. Continued conversations with my school (who I spoke to last week .. I love them already).
  17. Bureaucracy. Luckily all of my visa paperwork is in order, so this is a HUGE item to check off the list.
  18. Insurance. Medical, travel, etc.
  19. Pack. “He who would travel happily must travel light,” Antoine de Saint Exupéry. You will never see me lugging suitcases twice my size while traveling. If you suffer with this whether it’s ten days or ten months, check out: http://www.onebag.com/
  20. Party! This is clearly one of the highlights.. multiple farewell parties.
2 thoughts on “upheaval: 20 points

Leave a Reply

