the great leap

The month of my departure has been a lot like Eat Around the Lehigh Valley. I’m trying to meet with friends and colleagues before I leave, and it usually involves food. Over the course of these many fine meals, I’ve been fielding a ton of questions about the who, what, where, when and why about Spain.

Here’s a snippet of a typical convo:

When do you actually leave?
September 26
So where will you be living?
I actually don’t know yet
What kind of school are you in?
Secondary
What subjects are you teaching?
Not sure
Do they give you a curriculum?
Possibly
Are you working with teaching assistants?
Maybe
What’s your work schedule like?
No idea

There are a lot of unknowns at this point in the process, and I’m not going to lie – I am frustrated by them. I am a planner at heart, and like to have things laid out in a well-constructed, well-researched manner. I’ve come to terms with the fact that this … is damn near impossible in this scenario. Whoever referred to “the best laid plans …” was right. What’s the other one? You plan, the Universe laughs?

So if I forget the following, please remind me: These are all things beyond my control. I’m just going to have to wing it.

(what is this, a Choose Your Own Adventure book?)

And to answer your question, no I have NOT packed yet.

Leave a Reply

