deliberation

How many pairs of socks is too many? Do I really need that other pair of sneakers? Should I bring business attire? Can I buy my contact solution in Spain? Should I pare down the school supplies? Am I seriously going to make this happens in two bags? How many pashminas is too many? Where the hell did all of these clothes come from and how much would it cost to hire someone to do this for me?

It’s a fact — I’ve entered the Do Not Wear it if You’re Going to Pack it stage. There will be no more laundry unless I have a total crisis and reevaluate my entire wardrobe. Once all is said and done I think it would be fair to say that I am leaving at least 80% of my wardrobe at home. That’s a lot. It also makes me think I have too many things to begin with — something that has plagued me in recent years as I tried to go green (with limited success) and take control of my material possessions.

I know I can buy virtually anything I need when I arrive at my destination, but there is a level of comfort to be considered here. I’m not going to want to go out and buy new clothes the minute I get there. I want my own jeans. I want to settle in, head to a local cafe, hang out with my week-long roommate over a cup of coffee (or a glass of sangria) and chill out. There is to be no panicking, and no shopping. I’ll shop when I get the apartment. Oh but it won’t be the one the lady at my school is renting ……. because I just found out she rented it to someone else. Mierda!

Additionally, I have a strong dislike for the fact I have to dismantle everything so precariously stacked on my bed before I go to sleep. Maybe I’ll just sleep on one side…

When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money.
Then take half the clothes and twice the money.
~Susan Heller

One thought on “deliberation

Leave a Reply

