ciudad de mi corazón

Driving from place to place in Andalucia is beautiful. By train, by car or by bus – you can see olive groves, mountains and trees for days. Just this afternoon on my way home from Granada (3 hours by bus, direct) we drove alongside a fiery sunset, lighting up the sky and creating giant silhouettes of the turbines on the hills. Solar farms fly by, wind turbines turn in the distance and you travel to the soundtrack of your ipod. It makes me smile every time.

I smiled a lot this weekend. I returned to Granada after six years away and fell in love all over again. We stayed at a monastery (no, really) along the river and made all the required stops: Cathedral, Alhambra, Capilla Real, Mirador de San Nicolas. We marveled over the monstrous free plates of tapas with every round of drinks (damn you, Sevilla).

But the best part for me was a chance to see my host family again. After six years, I can say that everything looks the same – like it was frozen in time. My señora made paella and I was able to sit and chat with mom, dad, brother & sister about the past six years. It was happy, sad, hysterical, and perfect all at once. It has a very big feeling of full circle-ness to it, and I have no idea what it means. For now I know it means my sister will visit me in Sevilla, I’ll finally to see my family’s cortijo and with any luck my parents will get to meet my host family in a few months! Talk about full circle.

Dale limosna mujer, no hay en la vida nada como la pena der ser ciego en Granada
Give him charity woman, for there is nothing in life like the pain of being blind in Granada.

Leave a Reply

