adventures in baking: Spain

I am suffering from a baking deficit.

As many of you know, Christmas usually finds me in the kitchen covered in flour and baking up a storm. Something about baking is very comforting to me – it is my favorite form of stress relief. At Christmastime, I give cookies as gifts and tempt my coworkers with butter, vanilla and cream. I gravitate toward old family favorites (filled cookies, Russian teacakes, shortbread cut-outs) and holiday standards (snickerdoodles, gingerbread) – and I always try one or two new recipes. However, here in Spain I find myself with a questionable oven and a wild array of ingredients, not to mention the metric system (seriously America, just switch*).

After a rousing success at Thanksgiving, cooking a 13 lb turkey in our questionable oven .. I think cookies may be in order. This involves making a pilgrimage to Carrefour, which is apparently the epicenter of American Ingredients. This weekend finds me under the weather, so I highly doubt my motivation to take the bus over there. Instead, I came to the conclusion that I needed to have pancakes. Have to start small, right?

So here is today’s vocabulary lesson:
flour – harina
sugar – azucar
eggs – huevos
milk – leche
baking powder – levadura (en polvo)
baking soda – bicarbonato

pancakes

Mmm, pancakes

Following this recipe – I made a batch of glorious pancakes this morning. It is amazing how much the metric system slows me down in the kitchen! I triple check every measurement with my laptop on the counter, converting everything. Luckily we have a liquid measuring cup that shows ounces and milliliters, and I just wing it with a few of our kitchen spoons. All in all an amusing adventure… particularly when I see that the recipe calls for 3 tablespoons of melted butter and I reach for the tub of butter because we don’t have sticks, and then I turn around to use the micro….  oh wait. Melt it on the stove! What is this, Little House on the Prairie?

 

* I read a wikipedia article about the metric system and would like to share this enlightening sentence: “The International System of Units is the official system of measurement for all nations in the world except Burma, Liberia and the United States.” For the love.

One thought on “adventures in baking: Spain

Leave a Reply

