Photo for Thought: Nicaragua

Granada

Granada, Nicaragua

When I visit a new place, I find myself overflowing with feedback. Words, photos, ideas, receipts, ticket stubs, articles, references, business cards. I write to myself on napkins, practically bursting with the feeling of a place, like I’ve drawn it in in one long breath and need to exhale in a rush of words.

So you’re wondering, why haven’t I spouted off about Nicaragua yet?

Whenever I come home, everyone always asks the same question (the worst one): “HOW WAS IT?” If I’m on the phone with my best friend, I can work it out – try on the right vocabulary to fit what I saw and did. If I’m emailing my mother I can make comparisons, draw conclusions, give examples and write forever (she likes that).

So what am I saying about Nicaragua? 1) It was HOT and 2) I got extremely sick. Both true, and both lame. I have so much more to say about it.

Give a few more days .. I’ll get there!

2 thoughts on “Photo for Thought: Nicaragua

  1. I know the feeling. It can be really hard to put into words how you feel about a place, and sometimes I really dread having to answer that question! It’s even more difficult when you don’t really know what kind of answer the other person is looking for. A lot of times in my experience they just want the quick-and-easy sugarcoated version rather than the real deal with lots of detail. Sorry to hear you got sick!

    Like

  2. How was it IS a bad question! I agree. I didn’t like it when coming back from study abroad or my year as an auxiliar. How do you sum up the myriad experiences, feelings, sights, smells, tastes, emotions … all into one thing? Impossible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

