Behind the Apron: Italian Sausage Soup

Being stuck in the Midwest has … perks. (No, I’m not intoxicated). While I am hard-pressed to call it home, it does offer the following things in strong supply:

1. time alone to contemplate the mystery of life
2. time to read more books than I thought possible
3. time to nap at least twice in a weekend
4. time to work out to avoid going insane
5. time for immense boredom and panic to set in
6. time to plan trips elsewhere and imagine a social life
7. time to scrutinize my bank account
8. time for staring into my fridge, waiting for inspiration to strike

With all this time on my hands, I turn to one of my top stress relievers: cooking. Living solo means having your kitchen to yourself (which is a plus, as I consult the mound of Tupperware in my sink, waiting to be washed). It also means cooking for one person, which is so often a total pain in the ass. Thanks to Pinterest (see also: time to Pin excessively), my relatives and my tried & true AllRecipes.com, I’ve lucked into a series of successful recipes.

So why not share them with you? Starting here, with Italian Sausage Soup (source: AllRecipes.com).

One of the reasons I like AllRecipes is for the reviews. If you read too many, you may feel like poking someone’s eye out with a skewer, but they are generally helpful tips. Most everyone changes the recipe somehow, and some people are more vocal than others. Surprise! On a lighter note, this soup freezes and reheats like a champ. I’ve had a large container in and out of the freezer and haven’t noticed a change in the soup. I added the pasta and the spinach in the first round and they’re still going strong. Pair with red wine and a hunk of fresh bread and you’re ready for winter.

Italian Sausage Soup
recipe image
Rated: rating
Submitted By: SALLYJUN
Photo By: Heather
Prep Time: 10 Minutes
Cook Time: 40 Minutes
Ready In: 50 Minutes
Servings: 6
Ingredients:
1 pound Italian sausage
1 clove garlic, minced
2 (14 ounce) cans beef broth
1 (14.5 ounce) can Italian-style stewed
tomatoes
1 cup sliced carrots
1 (14.5 ounce) can great Northern beans,
undrained
2 small zucchini, cubed
2 cups spinach – packed, rinsed and torn
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
Directions:
1. In a stockpot or Dutch oven, brown sausage with garlic. Stir in broth, tomatoes and carrots, and season with salt and pepper. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 15 minutes.
2. Stir in beans with liquid and zucchini. Cover, and simmer another 15 minutes, or until zucchini is tender.
3. Remove from heat, and add spinach. Replace lid allowing the heat from the soup to cook the spinach leaves. Soup is ready to serve after 5 minutes.
6 thoughts on “Behind the Apron: Italian Sausage Soup

    • Thanks, Sarah! I originally turned toward this post because I was jonesing for Italian Wedding, but had all of these ingredients at my disposal. Fall is perfect soup weather … what’s your favorite?

      Like

      • gosh, any kind of soup is my favorite, but chicken noodle is my fav, my grocery carries these falt thin egg noodles that are so perfect for chicken soup. i tried your sausage soup and it came out really well, thanks for recommending it ! hope your day is going well…sarah

        Like

      • Fantastic! I’m glad it turned out well. Here in Illinois we are well into soup weather .. but now I’m off to Texas, so who knows what’s on the menu. Have you posted your chx soup? I’d love to see the recipe.

        Like

Leave a Reply

