Behind the Apron: Comfort Food

There was probably a meal that often landed on your table growing up, the one that would make little you turn up your nose and say, “I’m not hungry.” I think I used to feel that way about meatloaf. What the hell was I thinking?

Meatloaf is an easy weeknight fix, paired with a baked potato and something green and healthy. I searched around for special ingredients I might have been missing, but mainly stuck with the recipe I grew up with (the sauce really makes it).

Easy Meatloaf
Oven @ 350 degrees. Prep time 15 minutes, Bake time 1 hour
Spray a loaf pan (9″ x 5″) with cooking spray. (I used a glass pan)

Ingredients:
1 to 1.5 lbs ground meat*                          Breadcrumbs
1 egg                                                              Ketchup
Dijon mustard                                            Worcestershire sauce
Black pepper                                               crumbled Saltines (an AllRecipes add-on)
1/4 C light brown sugar                            seasoning

I always harassed my mother for not writing down her measurements… but now I’m doing the same thing. Meatloaf is kind of a throw-it-all-together until the consistency feels right. I think the main idea here is to make sure that the liquids are not puddling around the final product.

Use your hands! This will remind you to take the meat out of the freezer / fridge well in advance so your hands don’t freeze. All of the above ingredients EXCEPT the brown sugar should go into the mix (unless you like the end result decidedly sweet). Start with less breadcrumbs; add more as you go until your meatloaf holds itself together – I would estimate 1 cup, depending on how much of the other stuff you add in.

You can make this your own with stronger flavors – chopped onion, garlic, hot pepper flakes.

Mix the brown sugar, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce to baste over the loaf before baking. Bake for one hour in a 350 degree oven. I’m going to attempt to freeze my leftover slices .. after reserving a few for a meatloaf sandwich tomorrow.

* I used 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 lean ground beef

Leave a Reply

