Farm to Table

Once upon a farm, there was a girl named Maggie. Actually, there is no Maggie. And there is no farm, either. It’s always a good sign when the restaurant where you’re about to dine has a sense of humor.

You already know how I feel about brunch. Pass me a menu that will knock my socks off and pour me a Bloody Mary. Or in the case of a Sunday brunch at Maggie’s – pass me a slice of cardamom coffee cake while I wait (quite nice, as we were parked in the teeny waiting space for about 15-20 minutes).

Homemade doughnuts. Crispy brussel sprouts. Deviled eggs with onion & caviar. Oh hello, I haven’t even left the Small Plates section of the menu. Although inspired by the sound of the Fried Chicken & Rosemary Waffle, I saw said entree delivered to a patron next to me and it was GIGANTIC.

I should have known, they had me at sammie. I love a good breakfast sandwich, particularly when so many of the ingredients are homemade. The Chik n Biscuit was tempting, but after reading about the Young Choreezy, I was all set. MF chorizo – you may think that stands for an explosive adjective but really it’s Maggie’s Farm. But after you taste it, you may revert back to your first guess – it’s that good. Keeping it local they are also serving Zeke’s coffee, from the next door small batch roastery.

I spotted the homemade chorizo the night before on the chef’s Instagram feed @maggiesfarm_md. If you do anything with your social media, get on the stick and watch his photos. Everything from lamb to grits to bread to chicharrones for their Mexican Popup this past weekend. With events like these, Restaurant Week in February, and dinner / late night hours, the MF staff is quite busy. Thanks to a recent Twitter convo, I will also spread the rumor is that Saturday brunch will soon be upon us!

Tucked into a tiny strip of stores and previously home to the Chameleon, Maggie’s is an intimate space with a reservation list as long as your arm. Bar space was available when we got in at Noon on Sunday, a table would have meant waiting until 2ish. I felt guilty about parking in the nearby Safeway parking lot but apparently that’s the place to be.

So, the answer to your next question is yes. This meal was as good as the photo. And I ate the whole damn thing. Keep on rocking, Maggie’s Farm – you are delicious.

maggies farm baltimore

Leave a Reply

