Walking Around Williamsburg

Sometimes conferences keep you cooped up indoors and you don’t get to run around and see everything you want to see in a new city. That said, I usually try to take a day or two to myself before or after a long academic conference. Back in 2010 when I was in Istanbul for a conference, one of my professors said to me, “Kelly, you don’t have to go to everything.” I was shocked by this revelation. I don’t? Several years down the path, I’ve found a great balance between work and play in the conference zone.

Williamsburg, Viriginia is truly lovely. This was my first visit and the weather rolled out a fine red carpet of stunning fall foliage and sunshine on the drive down from Baltimore.

The conference was located at the Williamsburg Lodge, which was incredible. I like to work out while I’m on the road, and the fitness center easily ranked as one of the most immaculate and well-appointed gyms ever. Grounds, rooms, dining and common areas were also warm and inviting. Location can’t be beat as you can walk right out into the colonial area of town and be transported back in time with a few steps. I’d stay here again in a minute.

You know I ate well. Here are some favorites:
Aroma’s Coffehouse & Cafe – 431 Prince George Street – A divine southern breakfast and a location suited for a casual business meeting. Grits with a poached egg and a “Honey Do” latte .. and yes, I stuck a scone in my bag for later.

DoG Street Pub – 401 W Duke of Gloucester, Merchants Square – Excellent atmosphere in this pub where our early bird group gathered before the conference kicked off. I grabbed dinner to go (burgr for me, salad for Katie) and had a delicious cocktail while waiting. Long community tables and high ceilings inside, patio (with heat lamps) outside and a spot right on the busy thoroughfare.

The Cheese Shop – 410 W Duke of Gloucester, Merchants Square – My cousin James pointed me to this place before I arrived, although after seeing the layout of the town it would be hard to miss! I stopped one day for lunch with colleagues and another night for a glamorous cheese plate all to myself. You can buy wine by the glass, pick a number of cheeses, olives or meats and grab a hunk of bread to eat in or dine out. You pay by weight and my plate included three cheeses, olives, a glass of Merlot and a hunk of French bread for $19. Heaven. The sandwich process is efficient, but crowded. Be prepared to wait.

Blue Talon Bistro – 420 Prince George Street – This place boasts “serious comfort food,” and they are not joking. I waited 20-30 minutes for a table for one during Saturday lunch, detouring to Mermaid Books and the Spice & Tea Exchange across the street to count down the minutes. Once I made it to my table, I wanted everything on the menu. The winter vegetable soup came in a perfectly cute tureen and warmed me up immediately. The pressed French dip sandwich was decadent, which sounds crazy for a sandwich but trust me. I finished up with a berry cobbler and a very satisfied smile. Lunch prices were manageable, dinner looked a bit higher.

I tried to get a seat at two places where I was sadly unsuccessful, Old Chickahominy and Food for Thought. Those mishaps did lead me to both the mediocre (Red Hot and Blue BBQ) and the fabulous (Duck Donuts). Duck Donuts was a great find for a breakfast on the road. They apparently have locations all over the beaches of Virginia and are making their way to North Carolina and up into New Jersey. They remind me of Fractured Prune donuts but I also scored handmade hot chocolate and a delicious breakfast sandwich on a bagel.

I also enjoyed a tour and tasting at the Williamsburg Winery. After winning a bottle of Two Shilling Red during the conference (see, they are fun) I wasn’t sure I needed to head to the property. I’m so glad I did. I drove up after 4 p.m. on a Saturday that had proved both warm and sunny, and the lot was full. I thought tours would be over per the website (ending at 4:30 p.m.) but the workers were still selling tickets. The $10 ticket included a short video, a walk through the many rooms and processes, and a tasting of six or so wines. Our guide was a hoot and I was pleasantly surprised by the wines. The Williamsburg Winery is the largest in Virginia, and I also learned that Virginia wines are making their way up to their competitors in the Finger Lakes (NY), and Pacific Northwest (OR, WA). It was dark when I left so I didn’t get to wander through the vineyard but the long and winding drive was beautiful on the way in.

You can see my Hotel Confidential video reviews of the Williamsburg Lodge and the Historic Powhatan Resort.

3 thoughts on “Walking Around Williamsburg

    • Thanks for your comment! I think the city would be stunning in the spring. One thing I hope to do when I return is spend some time on William and Mary’s campus which is right on the edge of the colonial area. That and go back to the Cheese Shop .. twice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

