Discovering Savannah: Exploring & Eating

This is the second year I’ve flown South in the first quarter of the year, battling winter fatigue and seeking sunshine and warmth. Blocking a few days on the calendar gives me something to look forward to in the grind after the holidays. This year, I debated between Savannah, GA and Charleston, SC. I read several helpful blogs from various travelers and locals, and many of them referred to Savannah as “walkable,” which tipped me over the edge. I wanted just a few nights, no rental car, and time outside – and Savannah fit the bill.

My Priorities: Neighborhood, appetite, outdoors, wellness

Neighborhood. There are so many neighborhoods in Savannah, and just as many squares. Research told me that quiet, quaint, and green awaited me in the Historic (South) and Victorian districts, close to Forsyth Park.

Morning walk in Forsyth Park, a few blocks from my Airbnb

Appetite. I travel with my stomach, and this trip is no different. I love advance food research, will gladly seek local recommendations, and have been known to plan my next meal while finishing one. Here are three I would do again in a heartbeat; a full list of my favorites is below.

  • Collins Quarter at Forsyth Park brunch, without question the best meal I had. The spiced lavender mocha mentioned on literally every blog really was that good. My waiter didn’t hesitate when I asked for direction between savory dishes. The shrimp and grits was made with tomato gravy and Tasso ham, and it was off the charts.
  • Maple Street Biscuit Company, biscuits to go from a Southern franchise. What a BISCUIT, y’all. The Squawking Goat sandwich has fried chicken, goat cheese, and pepper jelly md was featured on the Food Network. Get a cortadito from nearby Coffee Fox for a proper park-ready picnic.
  • Treylor Park may come across kitsch but I’m here to tell you they make an excellent bloody mary and the miyagi beef tacos are slamming. I came for the nachos (made with waffle fries) or the pot pie burrito (you read that right) – the waiter walked me through my options, I switched it up, and I was not disappointed. The back patio was cool and quiet mid-afternoon.
Tomato gravy is the killer ingredient in this memorable shrimp and grits from Collins Quarter

Outdoors. I wanted to spend maximum time outside while in Savannah so I planned accordingly. When I left Baltimore it was 35 degrees, and I landed in Savannah where it was 65 degrees and walked out of the adorable airport with my jacket over my arm.

  • Savannah on Wheels was a great way to spend the morning, wheeling around town on a cruiser with our guide Linda. An Ithaca native, she could relate to my escape from the winter temperatures, and provided a warm welcome to the city. She offered copious details across the city’s history, landmarks, many squares, and highlighted some of the boss women that played a role in the early days of Savannah. $40 for two hours on a traditional bike. E-bike options, and keep-your-bike availability post-tour.
  • Squares and parks and steps, oh my. True to the comments I read about Savannah, it was a very walkable city.
Our bike tour took us through many of the squares with their wonderful old trees

Wellness. Someone recently asked what my ministry was and I think the answer is reading and self-care. I’m on the hunt for spa moments, yoga studios, biking and hiking, and I will plan my day around bookshops and cafés.

  • Savannah Yoga Studio was one of the highlights of my trip. When I’m away from home and missing yoga classes at my local YMCA, finding a replacement class is a priority. This woman-owned studio was walkable from my Airbnb (a huge perk.) Well-appointed and welcoming, I enjoyed a beginner / intermediate evening class taught by Ian. It was a tough choice to return for another class or join a bike tour – I’m glad I did a bit of both.

Things I skipped

  • Museums. I chose outdoors over indoors and skipped all museums. Anytime I dipped inside it was to eat or to shop!
  • Nightlife. Apparently Savannah has a raging St. Patrick’s Day scene, and this is not my thing. The signage everywhere was unbelievable, and the upcoming holiday the talk of the town. River Street has a strong nightlife vibe, and I heard locals refer to Jones Street a dividing line between boozy and residential.
Savannah is full of wrought iron details, beautiful stone and stucco, and warm colors

Other things I loved

  • E Shaver bookstore is cozy, packed to the rafters with books and has a house cat.
  • Nourish has two shops in Savannah, one on the river and one in town. Shoshanna and Corey Walker honor their mothers gift for soap making and have an abundance of clean, fresh ingredients in soaps, scrubs, and salts.
  • Leopold’s ice cream thankfully has a spot in the airport, in case you miss it downtown like I did.
  • Located in Plant Riverside, 18loves Art is a beautiful, thoughtfully curated space by a local artist. Her bright and happy artwork is a joy. And shoutout to her mom who was running the shop when I stopped in!
  • Chocolat by Adam Turoni is a gorgeous, sweet stop. I stopped in at the Library, at 236 Bull Street. Chocolates are artfully arranged in glass cases among stacks of books. You shop with a small box and tiny silver tongs, and it is divine. Versailles Pistachio Topiary Truffle to go, sil vous plait.
  • One of the best souvenirs I returned home with is Cinnamon pecans from Salt Table, as found in the airport. I’d been searching high and low for plain pecans and kept finding them in other formats. These were amazing and I rationed them for as long as I could at home.

Other food I tried

  • Squirrels pizza. Benny Blanco w sausage was delivered after a long day. Might have been better in person.
  • Mirabelle for a liege waffle, good coffee and a seat outside next to a beautiful church. Ricotta toast was delicious but diminished the waffle – next time, the OG for me.
  • Franklin’s for a breakfast croissant sammie. Confession: I was still hungry after Mirabelle and placed an order for Franklins before I finished my coffee 😂 Note the wax box packaging was a mess for a takeaway lunch stowed in a backpack.
  • Paris Market & Brocante Cafe – upscale sammies and shopping with rather startling price tags. You can do better (for less) at one of the other locations mentioned above.

Leave a comment